Water in Groveport
The 2020 census counted 6,009 people in Groveport, in Franklin County. It is about 8.7 miles from downtown Columbus.
Groveport is supplied by Columbus Water & Power as a contract community. Columbus treats Scioto River and Big Walnut Creek surface water, and Scioto Valley groundwater at the Parsons Avenue plant. The 2025 report lists finished-water hardness of 5.7–7.3 grains per gallon by plant (98–125 mg/L) and a system summary of 115 mg/L. The city does not publish which plant feeds a single Groveport address, so that range is the number we use, and we still test at the house. Columbus Water & Power says a home filter is not required to make the water safe to drink. On this supply, a softener or filter is a choice about taste, odor, scale, and how appliances wear, not a safety fix.
City of Columbus water (Columbus Water & Power) - listed contract community publishes a hardness figure for this supply: 5.7-7.3 gpg (98-125 mg/L) 2025 annual avg by plant; system avg 115 mg/L.
ZIP codes on file for Groveport are 43125, 43195, 43196, 43198, 43199.
What we test in Groveport
The free visit in Groveport checks hardness, chlorine, total dissolved solids, iron, and odor. It is a field test for choosing equipment. It is not a certified lab sample for bacteria, nitrate, lead, or PFAS.
Nearby places
Obetz is 2.9 miles from Groveport, in Franklin County. Water there is City of Columbus water (Columbus Water & Power) - listed contract community. Published hardness: 5.7-7.3 gpg (98-125 mg/L) 2025 annual avg by plant; system avg 115 mg/L.
Canal Winchester is 4.5 miles from Groveport, in Franklin County. Water there is City of Canal Winchester (own 2 MGD ion-exchange plant); explicitly NOT served by Columbus.
Blacklick is 9.9 miles from Groveport, in Franklin County. We have not confirmed Blacklick's public supplier, so that page does not state one.
Ashville is 11 miles from Groveport, in Pickaway County. We have not confirmed Ashville's public supplier, so that page does not state one.
More in Groveport
Nearby
Questions people ask
Who supplies drinking water in Groveport?
City of Columbus water (Columbus Water & Power) - listed contract community. City of Columbus water (Columbus Water & Power) - listed contract community publishes a hardness figure for this supply: 5.7-7.3 gpg (98-125 mg/L) 2025 annual avg by plant; system avg 115 mg/L.
Is the water in Groveport hard?
5.7-7.3 gpg (98-125 mg/L) 2025 annual avg by plant; system avg 115 mg/L. That is the published figure, in the units the utility used. Spots on glass and scale in a water heater are the household signs. The test confirms the number at the address.
How is Groveport different from Obetz?
Obetz is 2.9 miles from Groveport, in Franklin County. Water there is City of Columbus water (Columbus Water & Power) - listed contract community. Published hardness: 5.7-7.3 gpg (98-125 mg/L) 2025 annual avg by plant; system avg 115 mg/L.
Which ZIP codes does the Groveport page cover?
43125, 43195, 43196, 43198, 43199. Those come from a named place source, not a guessed centroid. Houses just outside the city limits may be on a different supplier.